Writing experiences

“They Say I’m Doing Well” Blog Tour – Stop #21 – Anna-Maria Athanasiou

blog banner1

The Mask

Fake smiling, I’m good at that.

Practice makes perfect.

My mask is in place,

The one everyone wants to see, wants to believe.

Each day passes in a blur, merging into the next.

Sleep coming quickly, exhaustion dragging me under until there is eerie silence, and I’m awake again.

Alone.

Empty.

Staring into the darkness, waiting,

Until another day begins and the same torturous existence starts again.

 *

A room filled with a family that loves me, and friends that seek me out.

But I’m alone, alone with only my fears for company.

My mask is in place.

And the worried looks of those who love me, are replaced with relief.

They say I’m doing well.

But I’m not.

Unshed tears concealed behind hollow eyes, simmer and brim.

And then, when I’m alone, they’ll run free.

But until then,

My mask is in place.

Anna-Maria Athanasiou © 2016

DONATE BUTTON

Thank you so much for taking part Anna!

To see the full list of authors taking part in this month-long blog tour, [click here]

To find out what “They Say I’m Doing Well” is all about, [click here]

giveaway

Anna is giving away a signed copy of Waiting for Summer Book One with a few bits of swag. To win, like Anna’s FB page: https://www.facebook.com/waitingforsummerannamariaathanasiou and post to her page “Sarah sent me”

1796500_10207420106396232_8487826909674314424_n

Leave a Reply

